top of page

Understanding LGBTQ

Actually, I don't have much prior knowledge about the LGBTQ community. Korea is more conservative than the U.S.A, particularly about sexual things and these groups of people. Even though there are some LGBTQ people in Korea, they usually don't come out in public as LGBTQ. I think, many Korean still regard them as unique groups in terms of sexual preferences. Last year, the mayor of Seoul allowed the first Pride Parade of homosexual people despite strong concerns and protests from many parents and most Christian groups. People who opposed the parade had religious belief, concerns about negative effects of it, or personal hostility towards people of LGBTQ.

In spite of fierce opposition, anyway, the LGBTQ people had the pride parade and showed who they are. One thing I really freaked out about was that some of them were almost naked or wore very raunchy clothing. Beside, some gay couples kissed in public without caring about others and some of them handed out condoms to people. It made me feel really uncomfortable.

I don't take offense toward LGBTQ people and I try to embrace these different sexual preference, but their overtly promiscuous displays and orientations confuse me. I don't know how to deal with it.

Since I came to the U.S.A, I saw some LGBTQ people and took a lecture about queer bodies. These pictures are about events of LGBTQ. Four students blinded and masked themselves, picketed at Reeve to show who they are. It was unfamiliar for me, but they seemed to try to indicate their identity to the public.

I agree that they are the same as I am except in terms of sexual preference. I understand people can fall in love with same sex because love is just love. They are just somebody's precious daughters, sons, bothers, sisters, friends and significant others. I respect their dignity.

I know every LGBTQ is same, however, I feel uncomfortable when these people show their private sexual relationship and culture in public. It can make people misunderstand that LGBTQ enjoy sexual promiscuity. What is worse, the young can be influenced on their value of love, sex and even identity. I think many parents also are worried about that.

I don't have to support LGBTQ people and I also don't have to dislike them. However, as an educator, I need to understand them and see them in a neutral aspect. Because in my future class, there can be some students who have different sexual preference or gay parents or confusing gender identity.

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page